This week an Arkansas legislator filed a bill to increase penalties for texting while driving.
Arkansas passed a law against texting while driving back in 2009, but added no penalties, only a warning for the first offense.
Now Arkansas State Representative David Fielding is trying to change that by filing a bill pushing for more stringent penalties on texting while driving.
"The first offense is a $200 fine and up to 30 days suspension of license, second offense is a $300 fine," Fielding says.
That would cost you 90 days without your license, while a third offense would result in a $500 fine and one year suspension of your license.
The bill has gone to committee.